Peter Molyneux discloses first details of his new project in the most Molyneux-like way possible

After leaving Lionhead Studios and Microsoft to form a new indie game developer, you might have thought that Peter Molyneux would begin to describe upcoming projects in a more pragmatic and reserved manner. You thought wrong. 

Speaking with BeefJack, Molyneux revealed that the team at his newly founded 22 Cans developer is working on the aptly-named “22 Experiments”, a vague project that will foreshadow the release of a final product, which will be the first game produced by the developer.

“We’ve got 12 people [in the studio] now, and I’m trying to push this to 20 people as soon as possible,” Molyneux said. “And then we’re directing all of our staff at the moment towards these things called 22 Experiments, which are 22 experiments that we will release digitally on the journey onto the final product that we’re going to make.”

Molyneux didn’t expressly disclose whether said experiments will be games or other forms of interactive media, but he did describe the nature of these mysterious experiments, the first of which is to be released in around 6 weeks, asserting, in classic Molyneux style, that they will be “very very different, unusual, I think very intriguing things.”

As BeefJack mentions, his talk at the GaME12 conference might portend the direction 22 Cans’ new game will take:

“I am fed up to the back teeth of consuming other people’s visions – of directors’ and screenwriters’ ideas of what a hero should be; of novelists writing stories that they think are good, but I think are rubbish. Why can’t we have stories about me? I want to have my own unique experiences.

“When I put my son to bed at night, the best story I can tell is a story that I make up, and that’s a story about his life. And he loves it. That’s the story I want. I don’t want another James Bond film, I don’t want another Avengers.”

Realizing that he may have given the listeners the wrong idea, Molyneux was quick to ensure the audience that he did not just divulge the central mechanic of his new title:

 “Please don’t take what I’ve said too literally – it’s not a storybook called ‘whatever your name is’. It’s a bit more subtle than that,” he said.

“I love this one thought, and I have experimented with this in previous games, that you find out more about yourself while being engaged with this experience than [you would] with anything else. And we all love finding out about ourselves – whether it’s through personality tests, or someone turning around to you and saying X, Y and Z.”

And that folks is Peter Molyneux. In six weeks, the journey will begin, and we’ll once again be able to judge whether his classic grandiose descriptions were warranted or just hyperbole.

[BeefJack]

[Image Source: Georges Seguin]

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Comment

